My Favorite Lie

My favorite lie was when you told me “I will.” It’s as if everything I wanted to hear comes after the words “I will.”
And this gave me hope, my favorite kind, the one only you could give me.
But I guess I should’ve known better than to hope that “I will” would become “I am.” And that is the worst part of it all. You made me believe in nothing but empty words and promises.
I thought you could be. You said you would be. But you never were.
You never were more than just a bunch of lies and promises. How your words never translated to actions cast doubt on everything I thought we had. One day, I finally saw the truth which set me from my expectations of us. I finally saw that you never giving me an answer was your answer.

Have I cried over you? Maybe I will.

Leave a Reply

